Blog Tour-Mirrorland, Carole Johnstone

Ultimate Tour – Scribner
Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

Publisher: Penguin

Age/Genre: Adult Thriller

Publishing: 20th April 2021

ISBN: 9781982136352

Amazon

Goodreads

About the Book

Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.

About the Author

Carole Johnstone is an award-winning writer from Scotland, whose short stories have been published all over the world. Mirrorland, a psychological suspense with a gothic twist, is her debut novel.

Having grown up in Lanarkshire, she now lives in the beautiful Argyll & Bute, and is currently working on her second novel: a very unusual murder-mystery, set in the equally beautiful Outer Hebrides.

Follow

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website


My Thoughts

“Because stealing someone else’s air is how you breathe.”

It’s hard to review Mirrorland because this is such a multi-layered story that one misstep could spoil things for other readers. Cat’s memories are so imaginative that you find you’re not sure you can trust her version of her childhood. The further into the story we get, the more we realize how true that is.

This story takes us perfectly into Cat and El’s childhood through Cat’s memories. We’re not entirely sure if those memories are exactly accurate. That’s what makes the novel so brilliant. Mirrorland is so well-written and so lushly descriptive, I could see the house, the yard, and each of the rooms as if I was right there beside the twins. Mirrorland is a true thriller, it’s twisty and intense, and it has you furiously flipping pages as you read to get to the truth. A wonderful and addicting read!

Add to Goodreads

Purchase

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour-Mirrorland, Carole Johnstone

  1. Thank you so much again, Rae! I’m so happy you enjoyed Mirrorland, and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you being a part of the blog tour (except I just kind of did!) Thank you!
    All best wishes,
    Carole x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Ellie Rayner Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s