Golem, P.D. Alleva

“This isn’t a horror novel, and I’m no mad scientist.”

Newly promoted, Detective Ashton is tasked with closing out what seems to be a small case. Set to interview a woman who’s been institutionalized, he’s sure this will be a quick interview, and he can move on to more important things. But Alena’s story, while exceedingly farfetched, in his opinion, is compelling. But there’s no such thing as monsters.

Okay, wow. I had read Alleva in the past, and so when the review request came to me for Golem, I was excited to read it. This convoluted, horror-paranormal-mystery-esque book ticks many boxes for the reader. Besides being downright scary, I found a couple of quotes fitting for today’s society regarding racism and egocentrism, which, while taking place in the 50s, suits our current Covid situation.

If I had any criticism about the book, there’s a life event that happens near the end, involving Annette that felt out of leftfield and didn’t fit into the book for me. But it’s such a small thing and in no way hampered my enjoyment of this 5-star read.

Alleva tests his characters repeatedly, and it’s downright horrifying. The reader can’t help but follow the characters down these dark roads. Golem is dark and enthralling and so very addicting; I highly recommend it.

Read and like this review on Amazon, Goodreads, and Bookbub.

Golem is available for purchase on Amazon for $4.99, it’s enrolled in KU.

About the Book:
Detective. Angel. Victim. Devil.

A haunting tale of suspense, loss, isolation, contempt, and fear.

On November 1, 1951, war hero John Ashton was promoted to detective. His first assignment: find the district attorney’s missing daughter. But his only lead is Alena Francon, a high society sculptor and socialite committed to Bellevue’s psychiatric facility. 

Alena has a story for the new detective. A story so outlandish John Ashton refuses to heed the warning. Alena admits to incarnating Golem, a demonic force, into her statue. A devil so profound he’s infiltrated every part of New York’s infrastructure. Even worse, he uses children to serve as bodily hosts for his demonic army, unleashing a horde of devils into our world. 

When Alena’s confidant, Annette Flemming, confirms the existence of Golem, John is sent on a collision course where fate and destiny spiral into peril, and the future of the human race hangs in the balance. 

The Devil Is In The Details!

Fans of The Silence of the Lambs, Clive Barker, John Connolly, old Stephen King, and Anne Rice will be fascinated by this edge of your seat psychological horror thriller with a story that rips out the heart of humanity and throws it on a slab to be feasted on. 

One thought on “Golem, P.D. Alleva

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s