Blog Tour Review: 6 Times We Almost Kissed (And One Time We Did), Tess Sharpe

Title: 6 Times We Almost Kissed (And One Time We Did)
Author: Tess Sharpe
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance
Published: January 24, 2023

About the Book

Six moments lead us to two girls, one kiss, and three little words that were maybe always true in this gorgeous novel perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jenny Han.

Penny and Tate have always clashed. Unfortunately, their mothers are lifelong best friends, so the girls’ bickering has carried them through playdates, tragedy, and more than one rom-com marathon with the Moms. When Penny’s mother decides to become a living donor to Tate’s mom, ending her wait for a liver transplant, things go from clashing to cataclysmic. Because in order to help their families recover physically, emotionally, and financially, the Moms combine their households the summer before senior year.

So Penny and Tate make a pact: They’ll play nice. Be the drama-free daughters their mothers need through this scary and hopeful time. There’s only one little hitch in their plan: Penny and Tate keep almost kissing.

It’s just this confusing thing that keeps happening. You know, from time to time. For basically their entire teenaged existence.

They’ve never talked about it. They’ve always ignored it in the aftermath. But now they’re living across the hall from each other. And some things—like their kisses—can’t be almosts forever. 

Book Links

Goodreads
Amazon
Bookshop
B&N
Book Depository

About the Author

Born in a mountain cabin to a punk-rocker mother, Tess Sharpe grew up in rural northern California. She lives deep in the backwoods with a pack of dogs and a growing colony of formerly feral cats. She is the author of Barbed Wire Heart, the critically acclaimed YA novel Far From You and the upcoming Jurassic World prequel, The Evolution of Claire.

She is also the co-editor of Toil & Trouble, a feminist anthology about witches. Her short fiction has been featured in All Out, an anthology edited by Saundra Mitchell. 

Tess is represented by Jim McCarthy at Dystel, Goderich & Bourret Literary Management. Please send all rights inquiries and blurb requests to Jim.  

Author Links

Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook


My Thoughts

At first glance, this story is about two young women who tolerate each other at the best of times. Now, being forced to live across the hall from each other, things have the potential to get explosive. But the closer we look at Penny and Tate, we see two women who are there for each other, no matter what, and not just because of the lifelong bond of their mothers.

It took me a while to warm up to Penny because of her type-A personality. But the more I read, the more I wanted to hug her, tell her she was enough, and give her everything good in the world. We’ll circle back to Penny in a second because I want to talk about Tate. Tate has always had to be strong. Her mom Anna is sick again, and if Tate isn’t strong, she can’t take care of her mother. Tate, too, deserves all the best in the world.

Poor Penny feels that outside of her Gram Marion, she’s alone in the world, and she’s not entirely wrong, to some degree. She has Tate and Tate’s mother. But she wants a mother who loves her, who was there for her after her accident and doesn’t shut her out of her life. Her mother, Lottie, is absolute garbage who will make you rage so hard that even if you don’t love Penny at first, you will, and you’ll want to give her all the care the world can offer.

I am not a fan of long reviews, and this one borders on a novel already. So I will finish by saying that this book has a slow-burn romance, mental health rep, drama, friendship, and more. It’s raw and honest, and will appeal to so many readers.

Favorite Quotes

“It’s like she doesn’t see the way Penny’s face falls as she pushes her out.”
(It was around here, dear reader, that all my feelings for Penny started to change)

“My body is built for so many things, so useful, so capable, so very strong, but it’ll break under this.”

“I haven’t seen you be wrong yet. Just… a lot of wrong done to you.”

“Nothing in life comes out unscathed.”

“Is losing someone just a perpetually growing ball of grief? Like snow rolling down a hill, growing larger until it swamps you?”


Many thanks to TBR and Beyond and the publisher for this book.

Check out the full tour schedule at TBR and Beyond.

I swiped this image from https://www.thenovl.com/

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: 6 Times We Almost Kissed (And One Time We Did), Tess Sharpe

  1. I find that many characters I dislike at the beginning of a book, I end up liking them by the end when I figure out what made them that way. Wonderful review, Rae!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s